The surroundings are welcoming for hikers regardless of the weather or season. Peace and quiet can be found in the scenery of forests and ponds be it through walking, biking or cross-country skiing trips. 
Kunžak is situated on the crossroads of hiking- and bike-paths. The bus connection is very good. A station of the unique narrow-gauge railway passing through the region of Česká Kanada (Bohemian Canada) is 2 km far from the town. 
A wide range of attractive castles and chateaux accessible by bike or car is located within 25 km. Among of the best-known are chateaux in Jindřichův Hradec, Dačice, Telč, Červená Lhota and castles of Roštejn and Landštejn. 
In Kunžak there is a grass playfield, new sporting hall with artificial turf, tennis courts, cinema café. In Jindřichův Hradec there is a new Aquapark. 

The town of Kunžak (altitude 575 m), along with the municipalities of Kaproun, Mosty, Suchdol, Terezín, Valtínov and Zvůle, has got 1450 inhabitants. It is located 15 km east of Jindřichův Hradec in the direction of Dačice, in the spectacular area of Česká Kanada - scenery of forests and ponds. 
Intriguing granite boulders with stone bowls can be found in the surroundings. The highest peak is Vysoký kámen (738 m). The Trkal loggan is located on the peak of Kníže. Surrounding ponds are inviting for bathing, Komorník and Zvůle being the largest. 
Interesting natural sites are juniper scrubs near Kunžak and Valtínov and natural sanctuaries near Suchdol and Kaproun. 

First written account of the municipality dates back to 1288. During the reign of Vladislaus II the municipality became a town with a number of privileges conferred, e.g. cattle markets held here up until 1948. A dominant sight here is the gothic church of St. Bartholomew founded around 1370. The church tower dates back to 1556. In the park adjacent to the church there is a statue of St. John of Nepomuk dated 1740, another baroque statue of St. John of Nepomuk is located on the bridge in Velké Podolí - the oldest part of the municipality. A unique sight is the stone fountain on the square under the school carved from one piece of stone, to which water from the Javorka spring was conducted using a wooden pipeline. Stone columns of Crucifixion, some still in their original locations, some transferred to the vicinity of the church, are typical for Kunžak and its surroundings. A monument commemorating the victims of the WWI with the Legionary statue by Karla Vobišová-Žáková, a female sculptor native of Kunžak, is also located near the church.